Posted by: crispseptember | 21 September, 2008

Life In Germany

I’ve been in Germany just over two weeks now, still getting used to the weather, the food, the people. But through it all I’m enjoying myself emensly. Right now I’m living with 38+ people (it’s getting hard to keep track of how many there really are). All the girls share one bathroom and there are plenty of us where there could be problems, but so far I don’t think there has been.

Generally each day I get up around 5:50am and go for a run with a couple other people, once we return I get a nice warm shower (the hot water seems to last for quite a while, no cold showers yet). Then it’s downstairs for breakfast and most importantly coffee. After breakfast I normally listen to music and read my bible (or something like that). At 8 or 8:30 we have either group devotions/worship/prayer together. We will then normally have a few minutes to get our stuff together for classes which starts about 9:30, the classes go till 1 with a half-hour break for coffee in the middle (yes coffee!). At 1 we have a hot lunch, which I look forward to all day (it’s really cold already). Normally there is some time left over where I normally relax before I have to go do my two hour chore. From 2-4 every week day I’m in the laundry room ironing and folding linens, there is this never ending mountain in the laundry room which I refer to so fondly as the mountain of hell. During most of the days of the week I get to have a break after that until the next day, which I so look forward to, but on Tuesdays and Thursdays we have “Artist by student,” where we present an photographer that we signed up to do. And later in the evenings Lucy starts a fire every night that we get to enjoy.

That’s everyday start to finish, nothing really glamorous, nothing totally exciting, just life… But I like it, I’m enjoying my time here and the people I’m getting to know. Hopefully soon I’ll be able to get some photos up for everyone to enjoy.

Responses

  1. Hi,

    I really enjoy your work. Would you mind if I put you on my blogroll? I just stumbled across your blog in the categories section and I happen to be in Germany as well. Hope you are enjoying your time here.

  2. Hi,

    I don’t know if my first comment went through, but anyways, I just wanted to let you know that I like your work. Would it be alright if I added you to my blogroll?

    Take care,
    Graham

  3. sure, thanks for the thought!

  4. Hey Girl!!!!!! So good to see your blog update! I think I’ll re-read this for days! Oh boy, aren’t you glad I taught you to iron. We had work study like that when I was at Covenant College. It keeps the cost down and service up. And aren’t you glad you aren’t in the UK drinking TEA!!! I’m glad you get your coffee. I love you so much and miss you. Keep up all the hard work. You are a blessing to me!
    Love you,
    MOM :)

  5. hey there,
    I came across your blog and I’m actually headed your way for the regular DTS. Im excited, so it’s cold there and one bathroom. well, this should be fun. :)
    see ya soon maybe
    Nancy

  6. hey beautiful! you are in my thoughts and prayers SO much. thanks for updating! i’m so excited for future ones… :D

    i love you and miss you so… <3


Leave a Reply

Categories

