Posted by: crispseptember | 21 August, 2008

Change Is Going To Come

I know my life is at a turning point, but sometimes I look around and I don’t know which way to turn… The time is coming up soon, where I’m going to step onto that plane and head into what is unknown to me. I don’t know what to expect or how to prepare myself for what is coming.

In short I feel as though I don’t know anything, I don’t know what I’m going to be doing exactly (except that my time is going to involve missions and photography), I don’t know how many people are on my team, I don’t even know what time I’m getting picked up at the airport.

To keep myself sane I’ve started the packing process. I’ve created a pile in my room with everything (that I don’t need right now) that needs to go into my luggage. Then there’s the carry-on pile/bag that is beginning to overflow my senses. When I walk into my room I feel overwhelmed, then when I walk out I start thinking about everything else I need to get together. I’m starting to pull my hair out. I’m excited, nervous, a little scared, anxious that I don’t know what to expect, and sad that I’m leaving everything/everyone that I know here. All I can do is hope and pray. Asking God to give me his peace and presence of mind. And that by his strength I’ll be able to step onto that plane in two weeks and fly away from what I know.

Responses

  1. 8/23/08
    Hi Beca,
    I was looking online for something on Herrnhut and stumbled upon your blog, this is so exciting! My son attended this same DTS in Germany last year, and at this very time last year he/and us[parents] were experiencing all the same feelings you have expressed in your last two blogs, infact we have gone through these feelings twice! …as he left on the 16th of this month to go back and be a part of the staff in Herrnhut. You are right, your life will change, your heart will change, you will look at people and the world with the kind of passion you probably didn’t even realize was in you. My son [Tim] went to Thailand for his outreach with a team of 10, what an awesome, awesome experience. …well, God bless you as you travel and leave the familiar behind. You’ll have to look for Tim when you get to Herrnhut!
    June Scholten

  2. Thank you for those words of encouragement. It’s nice to know I’m having normal feelings.


Leave a Reply

Categories

