Posted by: crispseptember | 31 March, 2008

Cherry Blossoms

A day is Washington D.C.

So last weekend I went and visited D.C., it was a mad house down there. It was the first day of The Cherry Blossom Festival. It was packed!

When I first got to the metro to travel down there the lines to get a metro ticket were at least 25 people deep at each machine, so I grabbed my metro smart trip card and decided to take a chance that it had enough money on it to get me to a less crowded station so I could add money to it. It worked! I got myself to Georgia Ave-Petworth station and added money to my card (YES!). Then from there I mapped out a way to get closest to the cherry blossoms, which were my final destination. Before long I had to change tracks, then the platforms just got more crowded. Finally I abandoned my plan to have the metro take me as far as possible (Metro Center) and started to take a little walk.

I started to walk towards the Mall, as I was walking I saw hundreds of kites flying in the air. It was The 42nd Annual Smithsonian Kite Festival, so I stopped of a little bit to take some photos. The kites filled the sky with so much color and the excitement in peoples faces was so fun to watch.

I then started on my journey towards The Jefferson Memorial, where the cherry blossoms line the walk. They were so beautiful! There were many times where I looked through my camera lens and thought I was looking at an image that I had seen before.

There were many moments where I thought I was in NYC instead of D.C., but it was all good just had to tap into my patience level a little more than usual.

As I walked along the mad streets I came across some interesting people. I even asked two ladies if I could take a picture of them.

There were so many things to take photos of, many times I didn’t know which way to turn.

I ended up taking a break at The National Gallery of Art, while I was there I looked at a couple really amazing exhibits. One was Impressed by Light, which was photography from the 1800s, which came from The Metropolitan Museum of Art. I also took a look at the Let the World In: Prints by Robert Rauschenberg, this exhibit was so imperational as an artist. I was blown away!

I’ll be adding more pictures from my journey shortly!

If you are interested in purchasing a print/prints please visit the “Photographic Prints For Sale” tab at the top. I’m selling them to help raise some of my support for a missions trip I’m going on in September.

Leave a Reply

Categories

