Posted by: crispseptember | 28 March, 2008

Past, Present, & Future…

One day in 2003 I was walking around DC, i pulled out my telephoto lens and snap. I grabbed this shot from a good 50′ away.

Now to explain myself, I was only 19 at the time and was alone in DC. Naturally I was scared to even think about going near, but I saw a photo, I saw words, I saw a moment. This was a beginning in a desire that would continue to grow in my spirit. I wanted to use photography and art for others. It is said that “a picture speaks a thousand words” I decided there and then that I wanted to use photography to speak for people that were normally silenced.

It has been a rocky journey so far. I tried to hook up with people I knew to help me get there, to buddy up with me. But I have come across no one that wanted to help, or many that would back out at the last minute. I the short it broke my spirit and I placed this dream in the back of my heart.

Well good news I’m back on that “horse” and ready to ride off to the roads of Germany and after that Asia or Africa. What am I talking about? Well, I was accepted to the DTS program with YWAM in Herrnhut, Germany. In just five short months I’m going to be going away for seven months to use photography on the missions field.

Leave a Reply

Categories

