Posted by: crispseptember | 12 March, 2008

A Love for Photography

So, I’m excited about tonight, I’m going to be doing a sepia toning process in class tonight. I hope to get five black and white photographs toned, then I’ll be sure and post them for viewers and readers to enjoy.

Basically the assignment that went with the sepia toning, was to visually describe a word, fragile. Also along with the toning we are doing texture screens over the prints. I chose to photograph flowers with a marco lens, and print with a wax paper texture screen over top. I intend to tone all my photographs for the assignment bringing unity to the entire set that will be turned in.

A lot of people think that the sepia tone looks cool and causes a picture to look older than it really is. Many or most digital cameras have the option to take a picture in sepia. Thus the darkroom technique is dying out, why use the darkroom and go through all the trouble when you can point shoot and BAM you have it in the camera. Then all you have to do is print it out or download it to your computer.

I for one just enjoy the process of working in the darkroom, watching a photo develop and come to life before my eyes. I can’t explain it, but it’s use an experience.

Leave a Reply

Categories

